The Devil Wears…?

Andy Sachs: I don’t think I’m like that. I couldn’t do what you did to Nigel, Miranda. I couldn’t do something like that.
Miranda Priestly: You already did. To Emily.
Andy Sachs: That’s not what I… no, that was different. I didn’t have a choice.
Miranda Priestly: No, no, you chose. You chose to get ahead. You want this life. Those choices are necessary.
Andy Sachs: But what if this isn’t what I want? I mean what if I don’t wanna live the way you live?
Miranda Priestly: Oh, don’t be ridiculous. Andrea. Everybody wants this. Everybody wants to be us.
-The Devil Wears Prada, movie dialog

It was late at night, when I stumbled upon this movie on the television, and Andrea’s question echoed in my mind afterwards.. “What if I don’t wanna live the way you live?”

And the answer? Almost everyone says what Miranda said, “Don’t be ridiculous, everybody wants this.”
Well, if life choice is about statistics, we can survey hundreds of people and analyze which answer will be given by the majority of people.. Alas, majority sometimes doesn’t represent the truth.. As well as life choice sometimes can’t be inferred from statistics.. And maybe that’s why, sometimes asking people in a certain matter doesn’t help us to decide our choice…

I was wondering, whether I have to see my life now like I saw Andrea’s life in the movie.. (well, off course not the glamorous part of it, :p). We can see clearly that Andrea was misplaced in the fashion world. Off course it is because the author leads us to think like that.. that her good nature and simple life actually can be spoiled by the noise and ambition.. and that in the end, she choose the right thing to step out of the noisy life. But, in our reality, I couldn’t see it as clear as in the movie.. Until I ponder over it..

Could it be possible that I pursue something the way Miranda Priestly pursue her whole achievement?
We are led to agree that Miranda was the devil disguised in those exquisite attire.. But could it also possible that the devil comes in other attire.. here, in this particular life.. And I see it and praise it like other people praise Miranda Priestly for her achievement? Should I change my point of view and consider to step out of the “arena” like Andrea did, even though so many people seem to be longing for it?

 

                                                                        – Nigel to andrea

Tinggalkan Balasan

