Something I don’t want to forget

I started reading about two hours ago, after finishing dinner, washing dishes, and do some evening rituals. Even though it’s slow.. I’ll just try to keep moving.. that’s what I thought before I decided to start again. Yet, as usual, I get so easily distracted. Halfway, I change course.. I read something different than what I intended to read at the beginning. Still, I’m glad I found it.. the article below, which I picked from http://www.islamdaily.org. I haven’t finished reading the article, but this very part is really essential, and I don’t want to forget it. Regardless of how the rest of the articles turn to be. So, I post it here:

Qutb had written, “If free sexual relationships and illegitimate children become the basis of a society; and if the relationship between man and woman is based on lust, passion and impulse, and the division of work is not based on family responsibility and natural gifts; and if the woman is freed from her basic responsibility of bringing up children; and if, on her own or under social demand, she prefers to spend her ability working for material productivity rather than in the training of human beings, because material production is considered more important, more valuable and more honorable than the development of human character, then such a civilization…cannot be considered civilized, no matter how much progress it makes in history or science.”

Maybe it’s just because once I experience a short period of life in a faraway land with very different culture, so it’s always intriguing for  me how those advancements in technology, in health, in science, and in many aspect of civilization, comes with… well, how should I say that? … an abused freedom of thinking.. or heedlessness? Ah, I dont know.. really.. it’s just something that bothering me, and I find this article somehow gives me a firm ground,  let’s say.

Tinggalkan Balasan

